The Thanksgiving I Wish I Had

Unemblogment is one of the best chefs I know. She doesn’t have an underground supper club or gourmet food truck. She doesn’t even cook for other people that often. She just always makes the best-sounding dishes, and I say ‘sounding’ because I’m rarely around to try them. Her husband basically has a private chef and eats better than any foodie in town.

I stopped by her Thanksgiving en route to mine, and took pictures of amazing food that I didn’t get to eat.

Prep for blueberry corn muffins and maple yams with streusel topping:

Vegan onion dip and a Blue Cheese dip with a Marie Sharpe’s “Floater”:

Roasted garlic mashed potatoes with parmesan crust, traditional gravy and giblets and sage stuffing:

Horseradish deviled eggs with anchovy stuffed Spanish olives and her mom’s pickles:

The Jonathan Gold-inspired Cab Franc:

Cooking turkey:

Wine braised green beans with shitake mushrooms and caramelized onions:

Basting turkey:

Gingered cranberry sauce:

Admiring turkey:

Pumpkin Tart with Fennel Crust:

I got to take some pumpkin tart home, but otherwise is was the best meal I’ve had to miss all year.

2 Responses to “The Thanksgiving I Wish I Had”

  1. Cook for Yourself « Says:

    [...] « The Thanksgiving I Wish I Had [...]

  2. Mike Gordon Says:

    You have to try Bar Toscana, the hot new Italian style tapas bar featuring Milanese cocktails! It would make Peter so happy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

