Savory Sweets and Sweet Chips

I was talking to one of the original food marathoners on Saturday about Scoops’ Gorgonzola/pear/walnut ice cream that I had at Eat My Blog. Kettle corn, chocolate covered pretzels, many of Scoops’ unique flavors- these have been proof for years that salt and sweet belong together.

While the same old ice cream flavors rule the freezer, boring, salty potato chips fill the bags in the snack aisle. So as salt should invade the sweets, sweet should invade the salty world of potato chips. I’m not talking about dried mango chips, crispy plantain chips or even sweet potato chips. I want to relegate the nacho, ranch and bbq chips to their status as chips of the past. I want Maple Bacon Potato Chips:

The sweet richness of maple syrup, the salty punch of bacon, the crunch of potato chips- good for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Then today I read about the new non-savory Goldfish flavors. I’m sure this is only the beginning…

2 Responses to “Savory Sweets and Sweet Chips”

  1. Daisy Says:

    Brilliant idea. Make them, make them. I want some now.

  2. mina Says:

    amazing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

