Cart for a Cause: Animal

Cart for a Cause Tuesdays have been a rotating series of fancy food truck lunches around town. The chefs are from LA’s best restaurants (Lazy Ox, Comme Ca, Nobu) and the proceeds go to Meals on Wheels.

I was fortunate today to have the Animal Cart for a Cause serving lunch near my office.

For $10 I got a big fried chicken sandwich with bread and butter pickle slaw, red rooster aioli and corn on the cob. Additionally sides of Pom tea, coffee and pistachios and Miss Lilly’s cookies were included.

The sandwich and corn are both what you’d expect from Dotolo and Shook- buttery, rich, bold, lingering flavors that you can’t wash off your hands. For $10, this was the best lunch deal in West Hollywood without question. Then throw in the charity aspect and it’s the feel good lunch of the year. Two butter-glistening thumbs up.

8 Responses to “Cart for a Cause: Animal”

  1. e*starLA Says:

    Sorry I missed you!

  2. foodmarathon Says:

    Me too. Next PDC truck event, let me know what time you’re going.

  3. Food GPS Says:

    Glad to see that you scored a prized fried chicken sandwich. I was lucky enough to snag the last one, right before Jon and Vinny drove away in the Cart.

  4. Danny Cohen Says:

    I CANNOT BELIEVED I MISSED THIS. I CAN ONLY IMAGINE WHAT THEIR FRIED CHICKEN SANDWICH WOULD BE….. SORROW.

  5. foodmarathon Says:

    This was a good one, Danny. In terms of quality, value, ease (there was no line when I got there), not to mention the comfortable patio in front of the Pacific Design Center. I’m surprised more trucks don’t go there at lunch time.

  6. julian Says:

    if their fried chicken is even half as good as their fried quail, then I guess you had quite a sandwich

  7. foodmarathon Says:

    Julian, it could have used bacon, egg, foie gras and a pig’s ear, but it was pretty good regardless…

  8. Chinese Education Says:

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours
    would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet savvy so I’m
    not 100% positive. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

