Kings Game with Carl’s Jr

While growing up in LA, Wayne Gretzky played for the Kings and hockey was exciting. I went to games and played a lot of roller hockey (that’s outdoors on Rollerblades because I couldn’t be bothered to go to the rink to play ice hockey).

(that’s my roller hockey logo, not burger curling)

Twenty years later Los Angeles hockey isn’t nearly as exciting. The Kings actually have a winning record but I can’ t be bothered to follow them because I’m too busy following restaurant openings, Chinese dishes I can’t miss and more exciting sports like jai-alai (sorry hockey).

A sure way to reignite my hockey interest, however, is to lure me with free Carl’s Jr. To celebrate their new hockey-puck-shaped Grilled Cheese Bacon Burger, I was invited to the Carl’s Jr suite to watch the Kings get their asses kicked by Dallas a few weeks ago.

Unfortunately, due to certain food service contracts, Carl’s couldn’t actually serve said burgers at the Stapler. Instead we were given coupons for free burgers. Back to that in a moment.

First, the game was fun because our suite was the central marketing focus of the night. Not only did we have Happy Star in attendance, but we also had the King’s mascot, Bailey. (Note: Bailey is named after former Kings Director of Pro Scouting, Garnet “Ace” Bailey, who was in the second plane to hit the World Trade Center on 9/11).

Further, we were supplied with Carl’s Jr Slankets (the original Snuggies) because it’s cold at hockey games. I gave mine to a colder member of the group, for equally chivalrous and fashionable reasons.

To add to the fun we were featured on the jumbotron. I’m on the far right taking a picture of the jumbotron which is showing me taking a picture on the jumbotron…

.

So the burger. The point of the whole post. It’s no Western Bacon Cheeseburger- my bacon/cheese/burger of choice. But it’s not bad either.

I look forward to a Dodger Game with Happy Star and any other mascots that are available.

2 Responses to “Kings Game with Carl’s Jr”

  1. The French Says:

    It took me 10 minutes to recover from the shock of you doing anything related to Carl’s Jr. Not saying I haven’t in a moment of desperation…I even ate at Sonic on the way from Dallas to Houston last weekend and, well…I have the flu. I’m just sayin’. Not judging. Even Jonathan Gold listed a Jack In The Box taco as one of his top 5. Guess we all have our weak spots:)

  2. Matt Says:

    I had the grilled cheese burger. And while it was good, Neil is correct. Nothing beats the western bacon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

