15 Foods I’m Thankful For

Thanksgiving is a time for reflection. A time to think about how great we have it, even during this tumultuous recession, amidst a two-front war. So in addition to family, friends and my health, I’d like to give thanks for the main sources of happiness in my life:

Marie Sharps HabaƱero Sauce
Good on avocado, pizza, soup- everything you taste will taste better with Marie.

Bacon, anything and everything…
…says the Jew.

Garbanzo Beans/Chickpeas
I don’t know why I like them so much, I just do.

Bay Cities Godmother
All other sandwiches can kiss the ring.

Dumplings
Bite-sized, versatile and called many different things by many different people. Dumplings are universally fantastic.

Artichokes
Whoever decided to eat this crazy thing was more adventurous than any food marathoner. All the work it takes to get to the heart, makes it that much more enjoyable.

Avocados
Rich, simple and unique.

Bissli
Although some people say this Israeli snack tastes like dog food, I haven’t eaten dog food so I wouldn’t know. I like them so haters can bite me.

Foie Gras
Sorry ducks and geese… and my cholesterol. You all must suffer at the hands of deliciousness.

Tom Yum Soup
The spiciest, sweetest, most mouth-watering soup to ever be ladled.

Shrimp
I like them as many ways as Forrest Gump.

Henry’s Tacos
You can keep your Tito’s, taco trucks and Kogi. Henry’s is my Americanized taco and burrito of choice.

Matzo Ball Soup
I like almost every kind of soup, but matzo ball is my favorite. It reminds me of my childhood and comforts better than a Snuggie. It’s also more recognizable that gefilte fish.

Scotch
The long evolution of my drinking career has wisely ended at scotch. Nothing warms quite like it.

Padma Lakshmi eating Carl’s Jr
Something about too much of a good thing.

So what are you thankful for?

2 Responses to “15 Foods I’m Thankful For”

  1. Food GPS Says:

    Hilarious round-up. Is the bacon wrap at the spa wishful thinking? I’m with you on bacon, shrimp and dumplings. Somebody should combine the three and sell them from a truck.

  2. mattatouille Says:

    haha definitely funny. love that last tidbit.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

